Where to start

It’s been a long time since I have taken the time to sit down and write anything. Last July I suffered a terrible loss in my family. My beloved boyfriend/partner of 10 years died as a result of a fall from his horse. It’s hard to believe that almost 6 months have passed since that forever changed my life.
Jim was the biggest pain in the butt that I have ever met, but he kept me on my toes. Having him was like having another kid. He was also the dirtiest guy I’ve ever met. I swear that all he had to do was walk and dirt attracted itself to him. Being in a relationship with his was a full time job.
Slowly but surely I am getting my life back in order. My friends and family have been wonderful. My girls looked on Jim as a father figure in their lives. He was always the one they called when they needed help and he was also the one they called just to say hi. Unfortunately Jim’s piece of crap family never even bothered to come to his services, which were beautiful. We dressed him in his eventing clothes and helmet. He would have been proud. I never even received so much as a card from his family. Not even his brother. His sisters I could understand because he literally hated them with his soul, but his brother must have truly been as big a scumbag as the sisters. I hope they sleep well.
Things are moving along here at the farm. Jim left me a huge insurance policy so I have taken a little bit of it and put up an indoor riding arena. Jim would be proud of it and also probably pissed that he didn’t get to ride in it! We are making good use of it. I now have 2 full time boarders at the barn and am giving lessons 4 days a week, which is plenty for me. I bought a new horse to start, a 4 year old AQHA gelding that stands at 17.2 right now. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Freddie will be the future of my farm.
Hopefully the weather will warm up a little bit. It was minus 12 this morning when I went to the barn. By the time I get done with stalls and working horses I am beat. It’s not fun putting 5 layers of clothes on just to do my daily work!
Well, enough for today. I’m hoping to get back in the rhythm for doing a daily writing 🙂

About qtrhrselady97

Horse trainer, equine massage therapist, mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.