The smells of spring

I know that spring is in the air, no matter what the thermometer says.  When I walked out the back door this morning at 6:30 to put the dogs in the kennel, all I can say is ewww!  The aroma of skunk was everywhere.  When you get that smell during this time of year, it usually means mating season for our smelly friends.  Not to mention I’ve seen a lot of dead animals on the road signifying that the smaller animals are on the move, looking for the first bits of spring delicacies.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the weather is going to keep improving.

I am so glad that I don’t have to do 15 stalls on a daily basis!  Between my farm and Wendy’s place I am starting to get worn down.  It is a lot of work and with the cold, rainy weather it makes it pretty unpleasant.  You don’t know how to dress….if you wear your long underwear, pretty soon you are roasting.  So I just dress in layers and work pretty vigorously to get warmed up.  By the time I got home from Wendy’s today my clothes were soaked in sweat.  Right now everything is in the washing machine.

I realized last night just how much I miss Jim.  All of the little things he always took care of are now falling on my plate.  Some days it seems I go from job to job to job trying to get it all taken care of.  It’s a good thing I’ve always been mechanically inclined because I would be screwed.  I am also so very grateful of the huge life insurance policy he left me.  While I knew that he had a will and life insurance(I was always the one who made sure he got his paperwork in on time!) I never realized how much he provided for me.  He was truly a wonderful man who made sure I will always be taken care of.  I’ve had a few bad days….feeling sorry for myself and still very pissed at him for leaving me like he did.  Although we had talked many times about how if we had a choice how we would want to die.  His was either in his dirt car or in a fall from his eventing horse.  He succeeded in getting his wish.

The dryer is beeping so I guess this is enough for now…………

About qtrhrselady97

Horse trainer, equine massage therapist, mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.