Ramblings on…………-12 degrees

Today when I went to the barn the outside temperature was -12 degrees.  Come on now, this crap is getting ridiculous!  This is March for heaven’s sake!  We need some warm weather.  Jim has been coming home so late because this cold weather is hell on the garbage trucks and he can’t leave until they are all ready for the next day.  At least from the forecast it looks like we might be in for a little relief by the end of the week.  Since Friday is my birthday, I sure hope so! 

The blacksmith will be here on Thursday to trim 5 and do a re-set on one.  It usually takes about 2 hours so I’m hoping that it warms up enough that we aren’t freezing our asses off out in the barn.  Probably next month we will put shoes back on the thoroughbreds to get ready for show season.  Jim and I talked about possibly putting it off until May, depending on how wet our spring is.  There is nothing worse than hearing that clink, clink, clink, thud when someone walks down the barn aisle after losing a shoe during turn-out :(.  And of course it always happens right before a show.

Speaking of shows, Jim and Jennifer have both been smoking everyone at the shows at South Farm.  I am pleased as punch at the progress that Jennifer and Boo are making.  He is a bad-ass and jumps everything that is put in front of him.  This month she is going to move up to the training level, along with doing the novice division.  Jim and Kwik are plugging along.  Slowly but surely Jim is getting his form back.  It’s hard to get that muscle memory back when you are getting older.  Riding a green horse doesn’t make it any easier!  Kwik is awesome on the cross country course but when he does stadium he always has a worried look on his face.  During the dressage section, he is impressive.  Jim said that this is the first time in his life he ever owned a horse that was so good in dressage.  Now if we can just get Jim’s equitation up to Kwik’s ability, all will be good.

We finally got our seeds ordered for the garden, which of course is covered in about 6 inches of snow right now.  But we will be ready as soon as the weather breaks.  We found a couple of ideas in the seed catalogs that we are going to be trying this year.  Thank God Jim is such a handyman.  I show him a picture of what I need and I get it.  And because I’m so cheap, he always manages to keep within our budget.

My judging shows are really beginning to stack up.  I’ve got almost the whole month of August booked already and June and July are following suit.  I love judging, I’m so lucky to be able to do it on a full time basis.  The only thing that will be bad for me is when I am judging one place and Jennifer and Jim have a show in another.  But such is life.  I’m trying to keep my schedule open to be able to go to the shows with them, but I have to make money.

I can’t wait until Friday.  It’s my birthday AND I get to spend it with my beautiful granddaughter, Tanna Marie.  She is the love of my life.  A perfect little human being, so very smart and already advanced for her age.  I am in the process of finding someplace that sells riding helmets small enough to fit her so we can start riding this summer.  After all, both my girls started riding when they were big enough to sit in front of me on the saddle.  She isn’t the least bit afraid of animals, loves my dogs.  Another generation of riding!

Well, time to head to the barn……

About qtrhrselady97

Horse trainer, equine massage therapist, mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.